WordPress Themes are Expensive


You are probably thinking what is Nick smoking, the last time I checked WordPress themes were cheap, like really cheap. True, they don’t cost a lot monetarily but I think cash is only one metric for measuring true cost. A more relevant metric is time. What do I mean by time? I’m talking about the time it takes for someone to set up a theme. Let’s get real. WordPress themes are more complex than they’ve ever been. I think this is a result of a crowded market where people add every feature they can think of in hopes of getting just one more sale. The term “multipurpose theme” gives me nightmares. Everyone’s time has value. If you aren’t setting up this theme you are could be working on your business or spending time with your kids. Time is something that you never seem to have enough of. For the sake of this example let’s say your time is worth $50/hr. If I had to choose between two theme one that cost $35 and takes 3 hours to set up and one that cost $100 but takes only 1 hour to set up if I looked at monetary cost the $35 theme would be a no brainer. However, when you factor in my time the affordable theme’s true cost is $185
Source: https://managewp.org/articles/14043/wordpress-themes-are-expensive

Leave a comment