Refund policies for WordPress businesses


I started writing this post because I’ve been thinking a lot about what kind of refund policy to have for my own products. Logically, I’ve always felt that offering a refund makes sound business sense but I can’t help the nagging feeling that refunds on digital products are just an invitation for people to steal your work. Initially I thought I would just write up some thoughts on the subject and maybe include some best practice examples of refund policies. In fact, I ended up contacting nearly 100 theme and plugin shops and as I found out more about how other people approached the subject, I started to change my mind about my own approach.
So, if you’d like to find out more about refund policies and refund rates, read on.
What kind of refund policy do theme and plugin shops offer?
Out of the 94 premium WordPress theme and plugin providers that I surveyed, I found the following:
Types of refund policies
I broke down the different approaches into four categories:
No policy
No refunds under any circumstance
Refunds but conditions apply
Unconditional refunds
It’s also worth pointing out that a substantial number of theme shops that I surveyed sold their themes
Source: https://managewp.org/articles/17028/refund-policies-for-wordpress-businesses

Leave a comment