My Gutenberg Experience Thus Far


Ive used Gutenberg for several months and during that time, there have been moments where I love it and situations where I’ve had to disable the plugin because of frustrating bugs. One of the most frustrating aspects of using Gutenberg is the lack of support from the plugins I depend on.
Publish Post Preview
I use the Publish Post Preview plugin to generate a preview link for posts so that people can see what it looks like before it’s published.
In the current editor, the checkbox to generate a link is in the Publish meta box. In Gutenberg, that option doesn’t exist. According to a recent support forum post, the author does not plan on making it Gutenberg compatible until there is a finalized API to extend the sidebar.
Telegram for WordPress
We use the Telegram for WordPress plugin to automatically send published posts to our Telegram channel. The plugin adds a meta box that has options to send the post, configure the message structure, send a file, and display the featured image.
In Gutenberg, the meta box is open by default which provides access to those options. However, when I edit a published post, there are times when the meta box is closed and clicking the arrow to expand it
Source: https://managewp.org/articles/17295/my-gutenberg-experience-thus-far

Leave a comment