@JJJ Review of WordPress 5.0 Beta 1


I’m writing this post using the new block-based editor that comes packaged with the first WordPress 5.0 beta, known previously and externally as Gutenberg. For just general writing, so far it ain’t so bad, but one thing that bugs me straight away is that the auto-save causes the UI in the upper right corner to spaz out every few seconds. I keep thinking it’s a notification in macOS, so I stop writing to look up at it, because it’s all just outside my periphery.
So far in this post, I haven’t needed to add any blocks or format any text, and I haven’t needed to move any text or paragraphs around. I have a feeling this is how most people will interact with this editor most of the time, and for that, it generally gets the job done no different than the classic editor did.
I suppose it’s about time I try to insert some kind of image, so here’s a shot I took today of some concrete that got poured behind the building my office is in.
I think it’s a little weird that the default new-block buttons are: image, header, and gallery. I also think it’s weird when I hover over the “P” for paragraph button, that it changes to 2
Source: https://managewp.org/articles/18040/jjj-review-of-wordpress-5-0-beta-1

Leave a comment